clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Goodfriend's Retail Beer Store Delayed

Beers on tap at Goodfriend.
Beers on tap at Goodfriend.
Photo credit: Goodfriend Beer Garden and Burger House/Facebook

Fans of Matt Tobin and Josh Yingling's Goodfriend Beer Garden and Burger House eagerly awaiting the debut of their nearby retail beer store will have to wait a little (or maybe a lot) longer. The project has been delayed due to permitting issues—seems the building that will house the store is zoned as dry, which Tobin and Yingling weren't aware of when they leased it, nor was the landlord.

Says co-owner Tobin, "We're currently fighting for something called a D-I overlay to get a specific use permit because it's a dry building." Tobin says they weren't aware of the issue when they leased the building, and neither was their landlord, who is thankfully working with them on the rent while they're stuck in limbo. "We feel bad because we know people are waiting. We said we were going to do it and we are, but we really just have no idea when it's going to be."

· Goodfriend's Matt Tobin and Josh Yingling Sell Us On Beer-Laden Retail Project [-EDFW-]
· Previous Goodfriend coverage [-EDFW-]

Goodfriend Beer Garden and Burger House

1154 Peavy Road, Dallas, TX 75218 214-324-3335

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Eater Dallas newsletter

The freshest news from the local food world